Denim skirt with …

Image

What am I looking at in these photos!

Here are some pics of the denim skirt I made about 2 months ago and that I am totally loving. The denim has a bit of stretch in it and is a slightly different colour to the usual ones. I got it at The Fabric Store.

The pattern used to be Simplicity 2475 but I have modified it so much now I don’t know if I can still call it that. I lowered the waist, halved the width of the waistband, changed the length, made it A-line, removed the kick pleats, and fitted it to me of course.

I really love how it fits – there is an even amount of ease through the waist and hips. If I don’t manage this then I find skirts just don’t sit right. ImageThis stripy top is another favourite of mine at the moment. It is a silk cotton blend from Spotlight and is so lovely to wear. It has enough drape to be flattering but not so sheer that it needs something under it.

I made all the seams French seams so it is really neat on the inside. Overlockers are great and I don’t mind the finish but a French seam is much nicer if the pattern and fabric allows.

The pattern is another self drafted one. Super simple with just back darts. Though next time I make it I will add bust darts as it does pull a bit too tight. Using self-bias for the neck line and arm hole really makes it look a bit more dynamic I think.

ImageImage

Although liking this new blouse I made (see previous post) it is really loose and long at the front. Normally I wear tops untucked but this one absolutely has to get tucked or I just look weird.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Denim skirt with …

  1. Pingback: Summer top/blouse | featherstitch

  2. Pingback: Black high-waisted skirt | featherstitch

  3. Pingback: Navy skirt | featherstitch

  4. Pingback: Best of 2013 | featherstitch

Leave a Reply

