The headless floral

Image

And yet more made ages ago… as in maybe 3 or 4 years. Probably almost time to retire them.

The top is a woven cotton, yes another fitted woven…what am I thinking. But it works – well I’ve worn it heaps, isn’t that the test. Sewing more knits would be great but I need more practice and none of my local fabric stores sell interesting (ie. print) cotton knits. I must reluctantly venture to the world of on-line fabric purchasing (enticed by a rumour of Liberty cotton jersey). I’m so tactile when it comes to fabric purchasing that on-line seems a risky game. What sorts of experiences have you had?

Sorry ’bout the chopped off head – I just looked kind of odd in the photos.

Once again the pattern for both top and skirt were made/adapted by me. I can’t even remember what I adapted. Probably an adaption of an adaption of an adaption.

Here is a picture of the skirt I’m wearing in the above photo, but easier to see the style…
IMGP2340
IMGP2341

This is the fastest skirt I know how to make and is super comfy. It has a small section of elastic in the front waist band (which is just an extension of the skirt, not a separate piece). So it just pulls on, no zips etc and has the nice gather.

It is so easy to draft – just add about 7cm to the width of the centre front of a skirt pattern. So a total of an extra 14cm is added to the width of the skirt. In this 7cm include the darts as they won’t get sewn.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The headless floral

  1. Amanda says:

    I agree, I love to be able to touchy feel my material. Except we don’t have one material shop in the town I live in! So it’s on-line for me too. Definitely not the same!

Leave a Reply

