Summer top/blouse

blue top 2

Here is my latest completed project. You may recognise the fabric from my recent fabric shopping spree.  It is a lovely cotton lawn but doesn’t quite have as much drape as the first time I made this pattern so it hangs differently. To counter that I put in a couple of vertical darts at the front.

The pattern is another self made one and a slight adjustment of this stripy top. The original didn’t quite have enough ease across the upper bust (errr… because of my large rib cage not from being busty, but it is the same pattern adjustment). I didn’t want to make the usual adjustment as it changes the amount of ease through the whole torso. So instead I moved the dart to the underarm so that it goes through the part of the garment where I wanted the extra ease. I then cut and spread the pattern as shown in the following picture (I use newspaper when I have to chop up patterns):

I’m actually pretty pleased with myself for thinking up this approach as it represents a break through for me in how I understand pattern manipulation. Instead of just following instructions I was able to apply the principles and think up my own adjustment! And it worked too 🙂 Though I think I didn’t need to spread the pattern quite so much. So next time I will make the same adjustment but just spread it less.

IMGP2366

I’m really into using self-fabric bias binding around the armhole and neckline. It makes such a simple top just a bit more interesting and looks so neat too.

IMGP2378

This top is the first of my Spring/Summer 2013/14 (Southern hemisphere) wardrobe. More details coming very soon!

BTW… I’ve been unsure about this for awhile now – what is called a ‘top’ and what is called a ‘blouse’? Is this a top or a blouse?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Summer top/blouse

  1. Thanks for one’s marvelous posting! I seriously enjoyed reading it, you’re a great author.

    I will make sure to bookmark your blog and definitely will come back someday.
    I want to encourage you to ultimately continue your great job, have a
    nice afternoon!

Leave a Reply

