Moss Skirt – draft 1

Image

So I was going to try making my own pattern similar to the Moss Skirt by Grainline studio but changed my mind and just bought it.

I made a super quick and basic version out of an old bed sheet and I’m so glad I did. The fit was way off. It was too tight around the hips even though I followed the sizing chart. I have noticed looking at other bloggers Moss skirts that there are a lot with the horizontal wrinkles across the lower hip/upper thigh which tells me that it is made for more boyish shapes than many of us lasses.

After making lots of alterations to the pattern I still wasn’t convinced I had it just right and so decided to sew it up properly. This is the result. This fabric has been in my stash for years as I don’t like it. So this skirt will never leave the house but I’m very much enjoying it as an ‘around the house’ skirt. Actually I’m wearing right now. If you look closely you might even see a stain on the front from when I was cooking just a bit earlier today 😉

Anyways… back to the pattern etc. I found the instructions easy to follow and it was easy to download etc. But I do want to change some things before I make this up in good/expensive fabric. The fit and style of this one is fine for at home but it isn’t good enough for wearing out (even if I did like the fabric).

Next time I will incorporate the fly and fly shield into the skirt front pieces so that there are less seams and bulk at the fly. I want to change the pockets so that they don’t go all the way to the centre front seam as it creates unnecessary bulk at the fly too. The pockets on men’s shorts don’t go all the way to the front so mine don’t need to either. The pocket facing really doesn’t need to be self fabric either, lining will reduce bulk again.

The pocket gape bothers me. I have some ideas about how to reduce this on the next skirt, but I’m not sure if they will work. Will keep you updated of course 🙂

Have you worked out how to minimise pocket gape? I am keen to hear other’s ideas.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Moss Skirt – draft 1

  1. gingermakes says:

    I really like this color! I think you can slash and overlap the pocket and lining pieces to get rid of the pocket gape. I know that it was intentionally drafted that way so you can comfortably put your hands in your pockets, but should be a pretty easy fix for the next go-round!

  2. I can imagine that this skirt is great to wear at home – pockets are handy. It is interesting to see how you experience this pattern… next time skirt will be perfect 🙂

Leave a Reply

