Inspiration

Lately I’ve been not sewing as much and perhaps for a reason you are going to think is really bizarre. I needed to slow down in a few areas of life. Even with sewing which I think of as a satisfying hobby I was getting really obsessed, to the point where I even contemplated not going away on holidays so I could get more sewing done. Yep, that was the sign to put the sissors down! Over the holidays I’ve been getting lots of ideas and inspiration from these books I bought or borrowed from the library. Here are some pictures for your viewing pleasure 🙂

Oh, and in case you are interested, this is a picture of where I went on holiday – Noosa on the Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia. Just a 1.5 hour drive from my house paradise exists.

Image

The following is a new book I bought. It is 603 pages of images and hardly any text. It groups the decades of fashion by themes such as ‘Belle Epoque 1900-14’ and ‘Make do and Mend 1939-46’. I am totally loving it! The little bit of text is teaching me about fashion history.Image

Image

Image

Image

ImageThis is another book of images I bought a little while ago. It has no text at all just images of clothes by contemporary designers that have a retro influence.

Image

Image

Image

I found this book in my local library. It has lots of pretty pictures of other creative people’s spaces.Image

Image

Another book from the library. I’m not sure what it is about as there is no English in it. But my guess is that it is images relating to a particular fabric and clothing designer.Image

Image

Another book from the library. How awesome is the Brisbane library service! I really love the style in this book but it doesn’t suit my shape. They are cute but totally shapeless. I would look like a huge person in a pretty sack. Inspirational none the less.Image

Image

Image

Image

Now I’m all filled with inspiration, and am back from holidays so time to start sewing again. Moss skirt draft 2 is what I’m working on at the moment.

What is inspiring you right now?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Inspiration

  1. Mary says:

    I’ve seen that Japanese book in the shops here. My first thought was how well that bow front dress would work for maternity.

Leave a Reply

