Fabric hand bag and fabric flower

Image

Here is a bag I haven’t used for awhile but it was the only one that went with the rest of my outfit today. You may recognise the fabric from this top and fabric flower

I made the pattern for the bag myself and designed it to be super simple to sew up quickly. The base is an oval shape. There are just two layers of fabric, no interfacing etc and it is reversible. For this version I used a plain red for the other side, the same fabric as the flower I’m wearing in this picture.  I like how this style of bag looks good whether full or empty and can fit a surprising amount in it – a little bit of Mary Poppins magic. Ages ago I had another version of this bag that I used for years until it was probably past its time. 

This flower (below) is really simple to make also. I cut out lots of flower shapes like the ones I used to draw as a kid. Then I gathered them in the middle slightly and put a thread through. All the pieces are then attached to a small bit of fabric at the back. There is a safety pin and hair clip on the back too. As the fabric is just a soft cotton it originally flopped everywhere and didn’t look very good. So I sprayed it with lots of hairspray as that is what I had – it worked 🙂

Image

The skirt I’m wearing is this one. I’ve had such a drama with this skirt! It was so great to sew and came together really well. But then I decided that I didn’t like that it sat so high on my waist and added a piece to the waistband and let out some gather so that it would sit lower. But I made a mistake and added too much so it sat too low. So then I unpicked again and made it tighter. I’m still not happy with it as I used a straight waistband but curved would be much better and I think I would prefer it slightly shorter. Oh well, it is the first time I’ve made it so next time I will do it differently. 

In other news I went through my wardrobe and cleared out so many old clothes or ones I just didn’t wear. It is so liberating. For some reason I feel that I have more choices and better clothes. Odd huh. Though it does remind me of something I read in a book about cultivating personal style. Apparently, ages ago a famous and stylish French woman (Andree Putman I think) visited the US. When asked what she thought of the US she said something like: “I love America, and I love American women. But there is one thing that deeply shocks me – American closets. I cannot believe one can dress well when you have so much...”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fabric hand bag and fabric flower

  1. Lovely fabric for your bag. Cleaning out my extensive wardrobe is something I really must do. Thanks for reminding me. 🙂

  2. marjtrundle says:

    I have been following your blog for a little while now but I don’t think I have commented which is very unfair as you do all the work and I am entertained. I really like what you make and how you explain yor ups and downs with sewing. I have many years experience sewing and each time I make something I always learn something new. So I can see that you are doing so well and sewing beautifully. I love the quote by the French lady which I think is very true but one I cannot achieve as my stash needs my attention.

Leave a Reply

