1946 sewing patterns

Image

How could I resist this magazine when I saw it at my local antique centre at Paddington.

Image

Loving the dress of the one checking out her nails.

Image

ImageImage

This magazine has all sorts of things in it including short stories (she thinks he is in love with her sister, but actually he broke off with her sister because he realised he loves her) some really funny advertisements, and reviews of the latest plays and films.

Can’t say I will actually make any of these dresses as I don’t think this style suits my shape unfortunately. But I just love the pictures.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 1946 sewing patterns

  1. Wow! What a treasure! I would buy it – no thinking…. just to admire 🙂

  2. What a great find. The ladies all look so elegant and well groomed.

    • Yes, I think that is part of what I love about these old patterns, especially the 50s ones!

      • I wonder how those well groomed ladies of the 50’s would cope with our current Aussie heatwave. Those poor women in everyday life had a lot to stress on them to look perfect. I am so glad that I don’t have to conform to those standards. 🙂

      • Totally! And have you seen the 50s advice for women saying to freshen up your makeup before hubby gets home. Ugg, no chance of that in my house. He can have smiles instead 🙂
        Sometimes I think how great it would be if it was normal/more accepted to dress up that much each day. But then I think of all the effort and how if I felt social pressure to go to that much effort each day I would get over it very quickly. I like the freedom to dress up or not depending on how I feel. Not having to wear a corset is a definite bonus too!

      • Totally agree with you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

