Wrap skirt heaven

Image

 

I’ve been loving the black wrap skirt I made so much I just had to make another – with a few changes. 

This time I decided to do away with the tie closure and use large snaps instead so that I can wear a belt with it. I added belt loops and made it shorter than the last one. The original plan was to put the pocket on the front but I just couldn’t find the repeat in the dot pattern so it wouldn’t have blended in, then I just got over it and left it off.

The fabric is beautiful. It is a stretchy cotton with a lovely woven texture, medium thickness but good drape. A surprising find at a suburban fabric store (Russell’s Fabrics at Sandgate). It was a bit more than I usually pay for fabric ($30p/m) but the quality is worth it. 

The sewing came together pretty easily as there is nothing complicated about this at all. It looks super neat on the inside with it’s French seams on the sides and double fold hems and front edges. The pattern is a vintage find – picture below.

My sewing pace, and therefore blogging, has slowed dramatically these last couple of months which I’m very sad about. I have a lot of other things that I really need to prioritise. When I think back to the height of my sewing frenzy earlier this year I wonder how I managed to find so many hours in the week to sew. What else must I have been ignoring? The dishes in the sink and money making activities for a start!

Image

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Wrap skirt heaven

  1. Amanda says:

    It looks great!

  2. It looks great! Perfect for summer days!

  3. Really cute skirt! I love French seams, they make everything look so smooth and polished!

  4. Ines says:

    Nice! The shorter skirt looks great on you as we’ll.

  5. Thanks for your lovely comments 🙂

Leave a Reply

