Two tops, a dress, and an announcement

IMGP3356

So I have been sewing lately, just not blogging much. Here is just some of what I’ve been making. I love this white top above, it is easily my favourite at the moment. I got the idea from a top I saw on Pinterest. The floral fabric was the lower part of a dress that I decided would better suit me as a top. It is a Liberty cotton. I made the pattern myself as usual. The white fabric is some rayon which has a lovely drape though creases easily.

IMGP3359

This top is another self drafted pattern. It is actually the same pattern as the white top but I’ve made the pattern so that it is really easy to make modifications. You probably can’t see it in this photo but the black fabric has two pleats at the front which makes it much loser. The reason being that I now need to be making clothes with way more fabric at the front – I’m 15 weeks pregnant. I know this black top won’t get me all the way through but I thought it would be good for awhile and very wearable post birth.
IMGP3364My first actual maternity make. I even bought a pattern! Gasp! Though of course I couldn’t help changing it at least a bit. The original pattern has gathers at the bust and from the Empire line but I think gathers tend to boof out rather than drape as well as pleats. So pleats it is. The back is designed with gathers too which I originally sewed (as pleats) but I don’t need that much room at the moment and it just makes me look huge. So I stitched up the pleats and will let them out when and if I need the room. I love this dress. It is so comfy and easy to wear. Being an Empire line it doesn’t suit me that well as I don’t have a belly yet and I’m a pear shape.

Being the pragmatic sort I’ve designed an ‘expanding-contracting’ dress which will suit me no matter what my belly is doing and will be suitable for nursing too. I will be able to let it out when my belly expands and tighten it back up after birth. I just need to piece together a couple of patterns and do a bit of drafting before starting on the toile etc. A slightly long process but I think the results will be worth it.

Have a fantastic Christmas and see you in the New Year! 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Two tops, a dress, and an announcement

  1. Mary says:

    Awesome! Congratulations. First baby?

  2. Colesworth says:

    Congratulations! Love the dress in particular ;o)

  3. Amanda says:

    Oh! How exciting! Congratulations!

  4. Michelle says:

    Lovely clothes and exciting times! The tops look great.

  5. Ines says:

    Congratulations!!! Such exciting news!!! I love your white top it has a really fresh , bright look. The dress is very pretty and I think it looks great on you, you certainly can where anything. Pear shape?! Maybe if you gained 30 lbs, b/c I really don’t see that! Happy Holidays!

  6. Thank you so much for your lovely comments 🙂

  7. Maren says:

    Hi Julie,
    Please forgive my leaving this in a comment, I couldn’t find an e-mail address for you. I’m making an index of Australian sewing bloggers, which you can find here: http://iammsfrizzle.blogspot.com/2014/12/sewists-of-australia.html I hope you don’t mind being on it- just let me know if you want to be removed. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

