Floral top

image

I stitched something!

With a 7 month old baby who wants to be held for her naps I don’t get much time for sewing anymore. But my husband is on annual leave over Christmas so I whipped up this little number.
The fabric is an excellent quality woven cotton from Sckafs at Indooroopilly. I just love the print. It’s so happy and Spring fresh.
The pattern is one I made myself ages ago. The print hides it, but there is a seam across the upper bust and two pleats in the main bodice. I’ve made this pattern so that it’s easy to make variations. For example, for kimono sleeves like this top, I just pin the pattern for the sleeve to the bodice pattern piece.
Construction was straightforward. I contemplated just overlocking the raw edges but it didn’t seem respectful to the quality of the fabric, and I love neat finishes. I really must remember to stretch bias binding on neck edges as it’s slightly loose. I could unpick it and resew it, but that’s just not going to happen.

Not knowing what I would make when I bought the fabric there is a bit left over. I’m thinking of making a t-shirt out of a plain cotton knit and use some of this across the top as a feature.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Floral top

  1. Colesworth says:

    very pretty Julie – nice to see you squeezed in a sewing project ;o)

  2. I see the seam and the pleats after I knew to look for it. Nice blouse and the floral is so pretty! Happy New Year!

  3. Summerflies says:

    This is gorgeous Julie, and I see the pleats and seam. Missed you at the high tea.

Leave a comment